Hearing Transcript Per Page Rates Fixed By Statute
Many states have passed legislation which governs how much can be charged for the transcript of a hearing. Iowa charges $3.50 per page for the original and the first copy, and 50 cents per page for every additional copy. Pennsylvania charges $1.25 per page for the original and 30 cents per page for each copy.
Some states charge reduced rates if the reporter uses a recorder; fixed rates for expedited transcripts; fixed rates for realtime transcripts; and reduced rates for transcripts prepared for state or county goverment.
The State of California charges per 100 words rather than per page. The rate is 85 cents per 100 words for original transcripts, and 20 cents for each 100 words for copies.