The views expressed in this blog are those of the owner and do not reflect the views or opinions of the owner’s employer. All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only. The owner of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site or found by following any link on this site. The owner will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. The owner will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information. This policy is subject to change at any time. The owner is not an attorney, and nothing posted on this site should be construed as legal advice. Litigation Support Tip of the Night does not provide confirmation that any e-discovery technique or conduct is compliant with legal, regulatory, contractual or ethical requirements.
Featured on the ACEDS blog.
Follow me on Twitter and see How-To Videos on my YouTube channel.
New tips for paralegals and litigation support profesionals are posted to this site each night. Click on the blog headings for better detail.
The content of ephemeral social media like Snapchat may stick around for longer than you'd guess. The basic concept behind Snapchat is that messages will be automatically deleted after they have been viewed. Once all recipients of a Snapchat message have viewed a message it is deleted from the Snapchat servers. As the policy posted here makes clear, messages which are not opened will be deleted 30 days after they are sent.
When two users communicate in a one on one chat. their messages will be deleted when the chat ends, but the settings can be changed so these messages are retained for 24 hours. Snapchats can be saved by simply pressing on a chat and holding on it until a Snapchat's background turns gray.
Snappables are inactive games multiple users can play in Snapchat. These can saved by a user in the memories archive indefinitely. The online policy makes clear that Snapchat backs up snaps saved to 'Memories'.
Snapchat also hosts online 'Stories' which are public content. This content may remain after a user has deleted their post.